Skip to content

June 24, 2010

Heading to the Beach!

by mrbrownliner

My formative years in fly fishing started in the Chesapeake Bay area chasing stripers on the fly.  After moving inland, I truly relish my opportunities to fly fish in the salt.  Next week we are heading on a family vacation down to Kure Beach, NC.  With 5 kids and 4 adults on the trip  don’t think I will have what one would call quality fishing time at my disposal, but I do plan on sneaking in a few hours in the surf while I am there!

So it is time to dust off my flats booties, strap on the stripping basket, grease up my intermediate line and get ready to chuck and duck through the waves!

This is a vintage shot of what truly gets my fly fishing blood pumping!!!!  There is just something about the possibility that something truly huge could end up on the end of your line!  I was talking to a friend down in Florida who was fishing the surf and ended up with a triple digit tarpon…. you just never know!

This trip will be followed 4 weeks later with a trip to the keys so be ready for some great updates this summer from the salt!

Read more from Salt

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

