Skip to content

June 28, 2010

A Man of True Depth

by mrbrownliner

Whenever I am on the water I try very hard to not only enjoy my day, but walk away a better fisherman than before I put the waders on.  I was fishing a fairly slow current and had a weighted fly but was not getting anything in the way of hook ups.

My fishing buddy asked me if I had put any shot on my tippet to help get the fly down.  Upon closer inspection, I was shocked how much the fly continued to just ride up in the current.  I added a small shot about 12″ above my fly and things changed pretty dramatically.  Not only was I having to clean the bottom scum off if my fly, but now I was picking up fish.  Especially when you are fishing for fish that tend to feed nose down it really can be a matter of inches between a hook up and a refusal!

Today was another good day on the stream and between the two of us had a great mixed bag of fish to show for our efforts.  I am still working on putting that video together… hopefully some time this week!

Good luck and tight lines!!!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

