Skip to content

July 22, 2010

New Gear Makes Me Smile :)

by mrbrownliner

The owner of my local fly shop thinks I am nuts.  I am worse than my wife when she can’t decide which purse or shoes to purchase.  I research it, talk it through out loud, cast it, think I know what I want… then start all over again.  Some of the things I buy I truly need.  Some of it I truly want.  Often I get the two confused.

My last purchase I truly needed.  I had sold my salt water rod and needed a good all around rod for the salt with a fast action… and as usual I was on a budget.  After casting her in the parking lot, I looked like a Pavlovian dog who had just hear the bell.  For a moment the parking lot of the shop had transformed into a set of mangroves and I just put my shrimp pattern in front of a rolling tarpon.   I had to laugh at myself….. have you ever seen the cartoon where he looks at his friend and he turns into a steak out of sheer hunger and has to slap himself to come back to reality?  Yep, that was me.

I seem to have a tremendous fascination with hardware.  I fished a trout stream tonight that was super tight and after catching 30 trees, am attempting to convince myself that I need a shorter rod for just this application.  At what point is it enough?  At what point is a 12 step program more appropriate?  I hear admitting you have a problem is the first step.  Hi… My name is Mr. Brownliner and I am a fly fishing addict.

I suppose there are worse things to be addicted to.  Crack or smack comes to mind.  I create reasons to go to the fly shop.  Not that I have to try very hard.  I know when I pull up in the lot they look at each other and smile…. Here comes that crazy carp guy again!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

