Skip to content

August 29, 2010

Poison Ivy Sucks!

by mrbrownliner

So last week I went on a hike with my wife before heading off to Erie to fish. I must have brushed my shins against some poison ivy somewhere along the way.

After letting it marinate like a juicy steak for 3 days inside of a pair of waders…. well I am pretty well covered from head to toe. If there were a way to unzip my skin and step out of it I would!!!! Ughhhh…

Between that and starting a new job, I have not been on the water in a week and am having total withdrawl. My buddy Bob called me the other night to tell me that he caught 5 carp on the fly in about an hour and a half on our local creek. Nothing like rubbing salt in a poison ivy wound! šŸ™‚

In all seriousness, I have started calling him the carp whisperer. He has invested a chunk of time this year to really paying attention and learning how to fish them. No one would ever mistake his casting stroke for Lefty Kreh, but he is a carp hunter extraordinaire! He has easily out fished me 5 to 1 and I am still perplexed sometimes at his uncanny ability to not only spot fish but to get them to eat.

That is the beauty of this sport. Just when you think you know a decent amount about something, you realize you have so much to learn!

Hope to be on the water soon.

Good Luck and Tight Lines!

Read more from Musings

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

