Skip to content

September 8, 2010

1

Pleasant and not so Pleasant Surprises

by mrbrownliner

Yesterday was an amazing day on the water.  I lost a bunch of good fish during the fight…. 1 cat, 2 drum, 1 carp, and 1 beautiful smallie.  It turns out the fly that they were keying on had a dull hook and I just could not seem to get a firm hook set with it.  The silver lining was two Sauger that were my first of the year and caught me completely by surprise!

If there is a lesson to be learned it is always be prepared with your fly selection and a hook can never ever be too sharp!  Fall fishing is starting to heat up and I am soooo pumped!!!!

As I was wading down stream I saw a fish swirl…. I cast to it but no take… it swirled again…. cast again.. no take.  I approached closer and I realized something was not right.  I could see the fish suspended in the water swirling in the current.  I reached down and this is what I found….

I know we have all lost lures or flies before, but this was about 5 feet from shore in about 2.5 feet of water….. come on people!  Give the fish a break and I sure as hell don’t want to wade through that crap.  That was the not so pleasant surprise for anyone that got lost on the way to my mental playground!

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Jeff
    Mar 13 2016

    That fish probably tangled the angler up in a mess of lures somewhere and broke him off. It got free from whatever the tangle was stuck on and that is where the fish ended up when you found it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

