Skip to content

September 18, 2010

Skunkaroonie!

by mrbrownliner

Well I decided that I needed to go to church today as it had been a while since I had a good worship session.  I am a regular member of the Church of the Upstream Mend, although I will occasionally catch the minister over at the Church of the Tailing Loop as well.

Apparently the fish gods were not pleased with me as they rewarded me today with a major league skunking.  As the old adage goes, a bad day fishing is better than a good day at work.  I much prefer the one that goes a bit like, “A good days fishing is better than getting your ass skunked”.  Ordinarily I really don’t mind all that much.  When I get out a few nights per week, how many fish I end up with is secondary.  It is funny though how when you go a few weeks without being able to be on the water that the fish count seems to matter a bit more.  I know that sounds highly ungrateful as I should have no complaints about how many times my line has gone tight this year…. a bit spoiled?  Perhaps…

In any case, It was a beautiful day and I enjoyed getting out so I guess I just ought to shut my pie hole and get over my bad self.

On a great note, my buddy Bob and I taught his kids Aidan and Bryce to tie a month or so ago and they went out today and caught their first fish ever on their own flies!  Way to go guys!!!  I still have the very first fly that I ever tied and caught a fish on…. man, that was an ugly fly but I still remember how proud I was when I landed that 8″ grunt!

Good Luck and Tight Lines

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

