Skip to content

December 3, 2010

2

I admit it… I’m HOOKED!

by mrbrownliner

So I recently spent a day chasing chrome on the storied tribs of Lake Erie.  Anyone who has ever read my blog can attest to the fact that I could sooner impale myself with a 3/0 Clouser before I would line the sides of a stream with 100 other guys fighting for the same stretch of water…. Sorry… combat fishing just isn’t my thing!  But I have to admit… I am so hooked!  The sheer power and incredible beauty of these fish has me mesmerized.  Visions of these chrome monsters float through my head and invade my dreams!

So Bob and I hopped into the “fishmobile” and made our way North.  I casually glanced up at the temperature read out on his dash and it read a balmy 28 degrees.  To be honest, I don’t think I had ever fished in the 20’s before.  So what did I learn?

This is what happens to your rod guides which makes casting an interesting endeavor!

This is what happens to your waders….

And this is what happens to felt soles when you stand on a rock too long and the felt freezes to the rock.

So why you ask would anyone in their right mind stand in a frozen stream with frozen feet and frozen hands for hours at a time?  I think the smile is pretty much all the explanation anyone would need!

Now it wouldn’t be a Mr. Brownliner post without some kind of rant so I didn’t want to disappoint anyone.

Just a quick shout out to the jackass in the camo who felt it necessary to step one foot closer to me after every drift until he could see whether or not I had any ear wax…..  Karma is a bitch and so are you.  You are a hack of a fisherman and you bring shame to those of us that consider ourselves to be fly fisherman.  There was plenty of stream to work with for all of us and the fact that I was catching fish and you were not had nothing to do with where I was standing!  I hope you got close enough to learn something….

OK… I feel better now.  🙂

Read more from Trout
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dec 5 2010

    I have to ask, swinging or nymphing?
    If you haven’t seen this hilarious little Youtube video yet, you must check it out.
    Here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPD8L-AzLV0
    There’s another one on steelies v. trout. I don’t know why i find it so funny, but it gets funnier every time you watch.

    Reply
  2. Dec 5 2010

    Jay,

    Nymphing and that is absolutely hilarious! and yes… I have seen the other one as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

