Skip to content

December 25, 2010

3

Happy Holidays

by mrbrownliner

I just wanted to wish everyone a very happy and safe holiday season.  I greatly appreciate all of you who have bothered to frequent my little corner of the web.  I hope this has made you smile or even raised an eyebrow or two throughout the year.  As the year ends, I have put together my little wish list for 2011.  I know it is a bit late for Santa, but it can’t hurt to throw it out there.

  1. I wish that all of the rude fisherman on the stream who don’t understand what it means to give another angler space accidentally close their rod tip in their car door.
  2. I wish for more time on the stream with good friends, good karma, and good times.
  3. I wish for fly fisherman across the country to stop buying crap on ebay and Cabella’s and start supporting their local fly shop before they don’t have a local fly shop to support
  4. I wish for more opportunities to learn from fly fisherman with more wisdom and experience than I.
  5. I wish my wife found fly fishing as interesting as I do.
  6. I wish just once Bob would not kick my ass while chasing carp.
  7. I wish I could make a decision between rebuilding a jon boat or buying a fishing kayak or a pontoon.
  8. I wish more people embraced catch and release and realized that there are plenty of dead fish at the local grocery store already.
  9. I wish my kids become as passionate about this beautiful pursuit as I am
  10. I wish for beautiful loops, sharp hooks, tight lines, and big smiles

I wish you all a happy and safe holiday season! 🙂

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dec 25 2010

    Buy the fishing kayak – Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  2. Dec 26 2010

    Very nice list.
    I am already without a local fly shop… unless you call the White River Fly Shop at Bass Pro local. Hence, my ebay shopping. The stuff I buy usually comes from other anglers like you and I who want new gear, so they sell the old stuff on ebay. Hopefully that helps them support their local shops. I do visit the local fly shops wherever I go for supplies. The only thing I have ever bought from Cabella’s was some rod wrapping thread and a set of guides.
    I love my kayak(s)… I say go for it. A personal pontoon would be nice too. Both are much easier to tote than a jon boat. I like the ease of being able to throw a kayak in the back of the truck and go.
    Have a happy new year!

    Reply
  3. Of course the fishing kayak! You will never regret that decision. Even the jon boat can’t take you were the yak can take you.

    What concerns your #9 so that unfortunately never came true for me. I never could excite my only son (meanwhile 21 years old) for fishing. I guess it’s because there is no mouse or keyboard or joystick involved in fishing. LOL

    A Happy New Year and Always Tight Lines
    Rick from TX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

