Skip to content

May 1, 2011

3

Family Vacations Are NOT Fishing Trips!

by mrbrownliner

So last week Mrs. Brownliner and I made our way to the valley of the sun to spend a week with family. I of course had every intention of bringing my fly rod and getting some fishing in while I was there. Now before anyone gets the idea that Mrs. Brownliner put her 4″ heel down with feminine authority she did no such thing…. of course dear, give Jimmy (her cousin) a call and you guys can get out and spend some guy time. I let out a mental woo hoo!!!!!

So I packed my duffel bag with half of it comprised of fly gear. (I know you’re not shocked at all). My first day there I spent some time on http://www.azflyandtie.com getting some great local knowledge for where to chase some urban carp. Day two arrived and family plans took up the entire day….. On day three, Jimmy and I managed a day at some local ponds. The spawning carp had no interest in me, but thank goodness the bass did.

So as each day passed and family time took front seat. I started to realize that there is a huge difference between a family vacation and a fishing trip. Sadly, the two really don’t mix well. As happy as I was to spend time with my family, I awoke each day wishing I could sneak away for a few hours to test some unfamiliar waters. As you can imagine, it was not to be. Now Mrs. Brownliner was not to blame as she was clear from the start. 5 day vacation, one day of fishing… negotiating was not an option.

Those are the moments where I wish that she had the same affliction that I do. That she might give me the nod and wink where we sneak away for some hot, steamy, covert….. fly fishing! You see, that is pretty much a constant thought for me… how can I steal just a bit more time on the water? There are times I wonder if I am alone in this? Is there something wrong with me? Do I need a 12 step program?

Hi, my name is Mr. Brownliner and I am a fly fishing addict…..

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. May 5 2011

    I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one. Nice bass.

    Reply
  2. May 6 2011

    Thanks! The bass fishing back in PA is really starting to heat up at this point so it is time to bust out the 6wt and the 8wt and start chucking big bugs!

    Reply
  3. May 7 2011

    I’m in NW NJ. Maybe I’ll see you on the water.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

