Skip to content

May 22, 2011

Presque Isle Looming

by mrbrownliner

Carp Whisperer and I have had a bass trip to Erie planned for months.  Of course the weather looks absolutely…. how should we say… SHITTY!  I refuse however to allow that to dampen my spirits.  I have been busy at the vise despite already having enough bass flies to fish for the next 3 years without running out of flies.

I told CW of my affliction and he laughed as he has been doing the same.  I told him it is a sever case of “fish-sturbation”.  Granted, yes it is a poor substitute for being on the water, but sometimes a man has to do what a man has to do!  So my rain gear is packed.  My 6 weight and my 8 weight are both ready to rock.  The only thing I have yet to do is figure out how I plan to gear up.  Vest, sling pack, sherpa?  Carrying trout flies or carp flies are easy.  When it comes to packing up meat boxes… whole new ballgame!  I think I am leaning toward my Orvis Sling Pack, but have been partial to my Fishpond vest lately.

You see while some men are charged with fixing the economy, creating peace in the middle east, or eliminating our dependency on foreign energy, I have been tasked with the truly vital societal burden of how I plan to carry a bunch of bulky bass and pike flies over memorial day weekend.  I know you all just breathed a collective sigh of relief knowing that I am focused on the high priority tasks at hand.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

