Skip to content

August 29, 2011

1

Potential World Record Cuda on the Fly Caught in Jamaica

by mrbrownliner

I’m sorry… Shameful…. I know… but I couldn’t help myself…. Yes it is the potential world record for the SMALLEST Cuda ever caught on the fly!

I was going through my photo’s and found this from my honeymoon in Jamaica.  I spent weeks telling my wife about the glory of salt water fly fishing.  I showed her all of my specialized (code for “did you really need to buy that?”) salt water gear.  She could hardly control her giggles when after a day of chucking lead the only thing I could scare up was this cuda that was smaller than most blue gills from the pond back home.

Now don’t get me wrong.  I had a blast.  I saw some amazing things that day.  I have fond memories of the island foliage in full bloom.

I distinctly remember the visual distraction of Mrs. Brownliner in her bikini throwing off the timing of my casting.  Yes dear… the tailing loop was all your fault!

But mostly I remember the amazing zen like feeling of being on the water with the tropical sun beating down on us as I scoured the shallows for fish with a huge grin on my face.  These days, Mrs Brownliner is preparing the nest for two new arrivals at home so it might be a while before the flats will see my reflection again, but it never hurts to take a stroll down amnesia lane…. soon enough…. soon enough….

Good Luck and Tight Lines,

MBL

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Oct 10 2011

    That cuda is unreal! Such a priceless shot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

