Skip to content

September 4, 2011

I Seriously Need My Head Examined!

by mrbrownliner

It was mid-afternoon and the sun was beating down relentlessly upon the water. What was I thinking? Well that is exactly what Mrs. Brownliner asked me as I came home sunburned and dehydrated. What kind of moron goes fishing when it is this hot out?????

I suppose this moron does! Now I would be a complete liar if I told you the fishing was prolific or that the fight in the fish I caught was top shelf. I think the dog days of summer pretty much left all of us uncomfortable and gasping for air. My motivation however is both specific and timely. You see, to put it in fly fishing terms, Mrs. Brownliner has a double on and she is just about to land both fish!

So life has taken some amazing turns. Any time between NOW and six weeks from now I will be driving the fish mobile mach 3 to the hospital with a woman in the passenger seat telling me where to turn and smacking me in the head the entire way. This means a tremendous joy for the Brownliner clan and for me personally. It also means that my fishing crack habit is going into detox for a bit until life settles back down. So for now, I am getting every minute on the water that I can. I don’t care if I have to fish downstream from a sewage outlet dumping little chunks of toilet paper into the creek! Wait a minute, I was fishing downstream from a sewage outlet dumping little chunks of toilet paper into the creek! My brain can still smell it to be honest… ughhh.

But I did bring some fish to hand! I’m hoping to get a few more hours on the water before two little brownliners make their way into the world. Wish me luck… I think I’m going to need it!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

