Skip to content

March 13, 2013

1

The Orvis Experience

by mrbrownliner

orvislogo

Sometimes what defines a company is not how they react when everything goes well, but how they react when they don’t.  I was visiting a Southern city recently and stopped into the local Orvis store to get some advice on local waters.  Unfortunately, the staff was not able to help me in the way I was hoping.  I have always had a good experience with Orvis so I was a bit surprised by the interaction.  I stewed on the experience for a bit and decided to write an email to Orvis customer service.

I expected a standard response via email of thank you very much for taking the time to reach out, we are sorry you were disappointed, blah blah blah….  I got that.  (minus the blah blah blah)  A few days later I receive an email from one of the regional managers from the Orvis retail division.  He really wanted to get a better understanding of what happened and how they could improve the experience.  We spoke for about 30 minutes and I was truly impressed with the companies reaction.

About 1/3 of my rod stable have Orvis tags on them and I own a few other reels and accessories.  By no means am I an Orvis Endorsed person yet it was vitally important for him to make sure that things went better next time around.  Thanks much to the good folks at Orvis for not only putting out a quality product but for taking the time to make sure they were going about things the right way.  Figuring out how to make things right that didn’t start out that way goes a long way in my book so mad props Paul…. nicely done.

MBL

Read more from Musings
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Mar 13 2013

    I used to think Orvis was all about high priced gear and snobbery. In the last few years I have found they are one of the few Vendors that does several things to introduce fly fisherman into the sport. Free fly fishing clinics and fly tying classes. They also give out coupons several times a year. Things like $25 off a $50 purchase. If you really look at the prices on their tying materials and lower end equipment it’s not much more than other retailers. Sure their Helios and top of the line stuff is expensive but that’s the same with any other vendor. Orvis has won me over the last couple years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

