Skip to content

April 10, 2013

What is Your Superstition?

by mrbrownliner

Next to hockey goalies, fly fishers could be the most superstitious group of people around.  I wish I could tell you that I have somehow transcended such foolishness, but that is just not the case.  Perhaps it is my OCD kicking in or being a creature of strange habits, but it goes deeper than that.  I have a firm belief that runs deeper than a salmon’s desire to return to their birth place that if I don’t perform certain activities that the fishing will not be very good… or worse yet if I do perform certain activities that things will be a disaster!  Not sure if this qualifies as fly fishing religion or not but it is as close as that gets for me so here are a few of mine….

Beef Jerky!!!!!!  Jack’s Links Teriyaki in particular.  If salted beef products are not present I might as well go home because not only will I not catch anything but chances are I will close my rod tip in my car door and drop my keys and iphone in the fastest flowing water in the river.

jack-links-teriyki-beef-jerky

Fly Boxers!  Yes, now you all know, I am a boxer guy.  Probably TMI but if I don’t wear my favorite fly boxers then not only will I break the biggest fish off of the day as I reach for the leader but I will realize about half way through the day that my favorite pair of hemostats have somehow fallen off of my sling pack and are nowhere to be found.

IMG_1051

Dual Fish Pendant!  Yes, at 43 years old you would think I would have graduated to jewelry that wasn’t attached with rope or hemp but I haven’t.  This is actually my second yak bone fish set.  The first one broke off while in the river and I never saw it again.  The rest of my season was a struggle after that.  CW hooked me up with this one and my yin and yang seem to be much more in balance ever since.

IMG_1053

 

So these are just a few of the things that I must do or have!  Some things I will NEVER do are things like….

Bananas!  Boat or no boat a sure fire way to ruin a good outing is with bananas.  You might as well say, Hey he is pitching a no hitter!  OR wow, he is only 2 minutes away from posting a shut out!  I won’t even eat them for breakfast before because even a partially digested banana can do serious damage.

banana

 

Store bought flies….  In some very desperate moments I have fished store bought flies but not by choice.  If a fly wasn’t tied by me or a friend it will sit in a box in the car for years before it sees the end of my tippet.  I don’t know why…. they look and fish just fine.  In many cases they look better than my own ties but there is something about fishing my own work that feels vital to the process for me.

So I would love to hear from all of you… what are your quirks and beliefs about what is essential to your fishing success?  Do you eat the same breakfast every time?  Wear the same shirt or hat?  Let’s hear it!

Tight Lines

MBL

Read more from Musings

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

