Skip to content

April 11, 2013

2

GOT CARP?

by mrbrownliner

Yep!

IMG_1068

 

Yes… I know, more of a “carpling” than a carp but after the long cold ass winter that still dumped snow in the month of April I was just happy to see the light of day.  Ordinarily I would have been disappointed by the fight which more closely resembled reeling in a wet dish rag but considering the circumstances, I was thrilled to see the take.  I had been busy at the vise over the past month and decided to give John Montana’s hybrid (trouser worm/soft hackle) a try.  I loved the way the fly looked and it’s profile as it sat on the bottom was outstanding.

IMG_0968

 

I gave one to CW to try out the other day and I was curious to see how he liked it.  As fly fishers, we can be such creatures of habit and sometimes deviating from tactics that work is a tough sell.  CW had been pitching eggs the next day to a pod of carp with no luck.  He dug through his fly box and pulled out the hybrid and decided to give it a shot…. FIRST CAST Hook up!

IMG_1082

 

Hopefully as things warm up we will see the big girls come into the shallows to play.  Thanks John and Trevor for putting together the peanut butter and the jelly into a great looking pattern!

Good Luck and Tight Lines,

MBL

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Apr 11 2013

    I’m still searching for my first this year. There’s a lot more other stuff teasing me. I’ve caught more largemouths than any previous spring. I’ve also found a decent gar spot.

    Reply
  2. Gregg Martin
    Apr 11 2013

    Good Job! Nice to see us all catching carp, well, the Red River crowd possibly excepted.

    Gregg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

