Skip to content

May 24, 2013

1

Hey Dude…… Cast Over There…. I Just Saw One Swirl!

by mrbrownliner

CW could have easily taken the shot himself but he was cleaning my clock as he was about 8 fish in and I was riding the skunk.  Not sure if it was out of  pity or consideration but I had no problem taking either at that moment….  I threw my brown wooly bugger upstream from the swirl, gave a quick mend and as my fly drifted into the slot I gave a quick strip and it stopped dead.  It wasn’t until my 7 weight was completely doubled over did either of us realize what a big favor it was.  The strong fish dug deep and bulldogged me longer than I would have expected and by the time it surfaced we were both pretty stoked.

IMG_1250

 

By say Lake Erie standards, not a huge fish, but considering the small creek we were fishing it was definitely a fish to remember.  Lately I have been obsessing greatly over purchasing a boat.  (that hasn’t changed) There is something to be said though for walking a few miles of stream with a good buddy.  The leisurely conversation, the periodic joke at either’s expense, the slowly changing scenery, the ability to slowly analyze currents… structure…. subtle depth changes.  All are things to be enjoyed while walking a creek.  So is getting caught a mile from your car in a torrential downpour which is exactly what happened leaving two guys soaked to the bone and laughing as we made our way back.

As luck would have it, we managed to catch a bunch of fish long before the rains began.

IMG_1256 IMG_1252

IMG_1249

 

Life lately has done plenty of  “getting in the way” of a good day of fishing so my appreciation for getting out is at higher than normal levels.  I hope you all manage to enjoy your holiday weekend and are able to carve out some time to walk a stream with a good friend.

Good Luck and Tight Lines!

MBL

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Gregg Martin
    May 27 2013

    If I can’t fish for carp, give me smallmouths. Love the pictures.

    Gregg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

