Skip to content

April 30, 2014

3

So It’s Starting to Look Like a Skiff!

by mrbrownliner

Well damn!  I must admit I had a few nervous moments as the pieces were being prepped and cut but if my eyes don’t deceive me this looks a bit like a boat.   OK, maybe I was only a little worried but it was super exciting seeing it start to take shape.  Yeah, I know the photography sucks on this but the only thing I had with me was my iPhone as my brother had borrowed my SLR for a conference he was attending so hopefully you get the idea.

IMG_1189

Big time thanks to my buddies Bob and Rich because this part is most definitely not a one person operation.  After running out of wire and having to strip out some scrap romex, we managed to get it basically stitched together.  Now that things are in one piece and my tiny garage space isn’t as much as an issue I am excited to see things start to accelerate quickly.

imagejpeg_0

IMG_1190

It is pretty amazing how much the properties of the wood start to change once you have a few layers of glass and epoxy soaked in.  You can already feel it begin to take on the rigidity and durability that comes along with it.  The next step is to put spreaders into the hull and give her some shape.  Once that is set we can fillet the seams and go to town.  Keep your fingers crossed folks as this will be coming down to the wire for our trip out to Presque Isle this month.

Tight Lines and Loose Pants,

MBL

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. jonathan b
    Jun 22 2014

    the boat looks great, I saw the post in the micro skiff forum and wanted to chime in. someone expressed concern about the exterior ply, so here goes
    years ago (almost 20 years ago) my dad and I built a 18′ plywood/ glass flat bottomed skiff. 1/2″ plywood from home depot, countless gallons of polyester resin, fiberglass cloth and 2×2 pine.
    we found the plans in a magazine, and started building. does the plywood last? well we had the boat for 6 or 7 years and it never failed us. the sides and bottom were butt joints, not scarfed (we knew nothing about boatbuilding), no fillets, all poly resin so it really doesn’t bond that well with plywood (again we knew nothing) and all exterior deck screws (not stainless).
    the boat was awesome, it was cheap, it was easily modified, it kicked butt. we had a 15 hp outboard and it was just perfect. we towed it to the bahamas twice behind our sailboat. we swamped it once, it didn’t sink (we had three compartments with foam (white styrofoam from home depot). We made a poling platform for it with metal table legs and more plywood.
    the whole thing was painted with latex house paint.
    the end story is that you are building a kick ass boat. good luck and it looks like an awesome project.

    Reply
    • Jun 22 2014

      Jonathan,

      Thanks so much for the support! I think Oyster was just trying to help me along. Sometimes you have to take anything on the web with a grain of salt because everyone has an opinion but I didn’t think there was anything there with mal intent. So much of this is a ton like fly fishing. You can buy an $800 fly rod but the fact is a $200 fly rod can catch the same fish in much the same way. I am guessing that with boat building there are some corners that you just can’t cut but some of the things are definitely wants rather than needs. I will try and keep everyone posted as this gets closer to hitting the water.

      MBL

      Reply
      • jonathan b
        Jun 22 2014

        its the same as fly rods- exactly.
        now I have two wood kayaks that I built, the “correct” way and they are great. good luck with the build.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

